Van Seat Holder

December 10, 2007 at 7:02 am 2 comments

I was so excited earlier this year when Monique and I got our first minivan. I mean, what kid didn’t grow up with a poster of the latest Ford Astrovan on their bedroom wall. Seriously, I really do love our van. I can haul a ton of stuff around and it all stays nice and dry. The only problem is that I typically keep the rear seats out and store them in my garage. These seats are heavy, awkward to move, and difficult to work around in the shop. After working around the seats during the first part of the jatoba table build I decided to do something about it. Here is my solution:

Materials:

  • 2’x2′ – 3/4″ high grade plywood
  • 4×4 – 48″ long
  • 4 – 6″ L Brackets
  • 4 swivel casters
  • Assorted nuts and bolts
  • Material for hooks (I used angle iron)

Tools:

  • Drill
  • Saw (or get the wood cut for you at the store)
  • Assorted hand tools (wrenches, screwdrivers, hammer, etc)
  • Welding rig (for my type of hooks…you may come up with another type)

Assembly:

This is a quick afternoon type project. Just center the 4×4 post on the plywood and temporarily hold it in place with a few 3″-4″ wood screws. Now anchor the post with the four L brackets. I used bolts that went all the way through the post and the plywood rather then just wood screws for strength. Next attach the four casters to the bottom with bolts. The most difficult part of the build is designing the hooks for the seats. If your seats are like mine they weigh about 60 lbs each so the hooks must be very strong. Another concern is to make sure that the hooks won’t damage the underside of the seats while holding them securely. I choose to weld my own hooks out of angle iron rather then try to find a pre-fab hook. The final product came out great for an hour’s worth of work and now I can easily move the seats around the shop to keep them out of my way!


hooks.jpg


final-no-chairs.jpg


final.jpg

Entry filed under: From the Shop. Tags: .

Jatoba Table Part I Astros Aquire Tejada

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monique  |  December 10, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    I love how it really doesn’t take much to make you start a new project in the garage.

    Reply
  • 2. eventhorizons  |  December 10, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Nope…I just need the slightest excuse…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Old Posts


